top of page

Butternut Squash Leftovers Soup

This one got RAVE REVIEWS from the kids! They begged for seconds.


Butternut Squash Leftovers Soup

1/2 large Butternut squash cubed

1 celery bunch diced

1 end of leek sliced thin

1 apple

1 large carrot

Sprig fresh rosemary

2 cubes veggie bouillon

4 cups water


Add all to instapot. Set to seal. Cook 30 minutes.


Makes about 8 generous bowls of soup.



My total cost for this hearty soup was around $2.50. 

I'm sure most moms out there can sympathize with me when it comes to finding meals the entire family can enjoy. I have a son who cares about texture, a husband who wants everything spicy, a daughter that loves meat, and myself who is vegan. It can be very challenging to eat as a family. So when I accidentally create something that everyone loves, I write recipe cards so we can eat it again.


This vegan butternut squash soup was pure luck. I had half a butternut squash sitting around, only 1 carrot, part of a leek that was left over from another dinner, a new bunch of celery, and an apple that was starting to go bad. I threw it all into a pot with a little water and cut a sprig of rosemary from my backyard. I had a couple veggie bouillon cubes left (WHERE ARE ALL THE KNORR VEGGIE BOUILLION CUBES????!!!) and guessed on the cook time.


I left it a little chunkier so you can see the veggies but I bet it would be delicious blended down into a puree. The kids absolutely loved it. They ate seconds and were disappointed when they couldn't have thirds. It's hearty, thick, and the leeks gave a nice savory flavor to balance out the sweetness.


You can't beat a 7 ingredient, 5 minute prep meal! If I had to guess on the calories, I'd put this somewhere under 150 calories per bowl. I hope you love it as much as we did!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page